manhunt

Manhunt by Kate Messner

September 29th, 2014 by melissa g
There’s a new review posted on Sweet on Books today. MANHUNT by Kate Messner It’s an exciting mystery filled with adventure. It’s perfect for middle school boys and girls. And, most of the story takes place in Paris, giving readers a great overview of that beautiful city. Check out sweetonbooks.com for our full review of Read More...

Posted in News, Reviews | Be the first to comment »

bedtimemath

Math is Cool – Use it Daily

April 28th, 2014 by melissa g
Bedtime Math by Laura Overdeck is a great resource – and lots of fun too! Laura’s mission is “to make math a fun part of kids’ everyday lives” and she absolutely achieves this goal. Not only are her stories amusing and her math problems entertaining, but she also provides just the right amount of humor Read More...

Posted in Common Core, News, Parenting & Reading, Random Book Thoughts | Be the first to comment »

ultra

Middle Grade Fiction – Cybils Awards

February 19th, 2014 by melissa g
And the winner is…Ultra by David Carroll. After months of waiting, the winners of the 2013 Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers’ Literary Awards (CYBILS) have been announced, and Ultra tops the list in the Middle Grade Fiction category. As the award dictates, it’s a great combination of literary merit & kid appeal. Also nominated in Read More...

Posted in Awards, News, Reviews | Be the first to comment »

The-Dirty-Diary-Cover-w-Blurb-small

The Dirt Diary by Anna Staniszewski

December 9th, 2013 by melissa y.
Watch out for this new middle grade novel, The Dirt Diary, coming out in January, 2014.  Fans of The Mother Daughter Book Club series and How to Rock Braces and Glasses – take notice! Rachel, the protagonist of The Dirt Diary, is an insecure eighth grader whose parents are divorcing.  When her Dad up and Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews, News, Reviews | 1 Comment »

nelsonmandela

Children’s Book List: Nelson Mandela

December 6th, 2013 by melissa y.
   “When a man has done what he considers to be his duty to his people and his country, he can rest in peace.”   (Interview for Mandela, 1994) A shining light of freedom dimmed yesterday with the passing of the great Nelson Mandela.  This man defies description, he is larger than life, and any attempt Read More...

Posted in Book Lists, News, Parenting & Reading, Weekend Links | Be the first to comment »

readbox

Wordless Wednesday: readbox

December 4th, 2013 by melissa y.
via #teachersaresocreative Read More...

Posted in Funny, Parenting & Reading, Random Book Thoughts, wordless wednesday | Be the first to comment »

thankfulness

Teaching Children about Gratitude

November 25th, 2013 by melissa y.
Before the hustle and bustle of the holidays, take some time to share these wonderful books with your children celebrating gratitude and thankfulness.  With all the talk of Black Friday, shopping, gift-giving and the general attitude of more, more, more; take a moment to be thankful for all you already have and use some of Read More...

Posted in Uncategorized | Be the first to comment »

reading is cool

Sweet Weekend Thoughts and Links

November 22nd, 2013 by melissa y.
Children’s literature lost two greats this week.  Charlotte Zolotow, children’s book editor, publisher and author, died at the age of 97.  Take a look at this touching tribute by Jennifer M. Brown of Shelf Awareness. Barbara Park, creator and author of the Junie B. Jones series, has also died.  She was 66.  Her obituary states she succumbed Read More...

Posted in Awards, News, Parenting & Reading, Random Book Thoughts, Weekend Links | Be the first to comment »

wordless wednesday

Wordless Wednesday: Sibling Read-Aloud

November 20th, 2013 by melissa y.
via Read More...

Posted in Uncategorized | Be the first to comment »

givebooks

Give Books This Holiday Season (hint: Amazon isn’t the only place for e-books)

November 18th, 2013 by melissa y.
Have you started thinking about your holiday list?  With Thanksgiving so late, Hanukkah two weeks away, it’s time to start!  But what to get – kids/sisters/brothers/fill in the blank – who have everything?  How about the gift of books? Naturally, your next question is bound to be – what if everyone has a kindle/nook/e-reader?  Why Read More...

Posted in Uncategorized | Be the first to comment »

« Previous Entries