The-Dirty-Diary-Cover-w-Blurb-small

The Dirt Diary by Anna Staniszewski

December 9th, 2013 by melissa y.
Watch out for this new middle grade novel, The Dirt Diary, coming out in January, 2014.  Fans of The Mother Daughter Book Club series and How to Rock Braces and Glasses – take notice! Rachel, the protagonist of The Dirt Diary, is an insecure eighth grader whose parents are divorcing.  When her Dad up and Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews, News, Reviews | 1 Comment »

Middle Grade Monday – Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

October 27th, 2013 by melissa g
The other day, my son asked me, “Do you have any books that are happy, you know, like where the world isn’t ending?” Luckily, I had just finished reading Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, and I thought it might be just what he wanted. Why, you ask? Well, it’s funny, there’s plenty of action, the Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews, Funny, Reviews | 2 Comments »

LuluBlogTour_Banner

Hilary McKay Blog Tour

April 7th, 2013 by melissa g
We are so excited to be a stop on Hilary McKay’s blog tour! Hilary McKay is the author of a very special series about a kind and compassionate 7-year-old girl named Lulu, who also happens to be a BIG fan of animals. In book one, Lulu and the Duck in the Park, readers meet Lulu Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews, Giveaways, Reviews | 44 Comments »

frankie5

Meet Frankie Spider

January 30th, 2013 by melissa y.
We’ve reviewed something new at Sweet on Books:  an app!  And a great one at that.  If you are constantly looking for quality apps to download for your readers, look no further.  Frankie Spider is just that:  quality.  Now let’s hope a real, hardbound picture book is to follow.  We are Sweet on Books after Read More...

Posted in Apps, Author Interviews, Reviews | Comments Off on Meet Frankie Spider

Patricia McCormick on Never Fall Down

September 29th, 2012 by melissa g
Last night I had the extreme pleasure of meeting the award-winning journalist and author, Patricia McCormick. She was at one of my favorite bookstores, The Voracious Reader, in Larchmont, NY to talk about her latest book, Never Fall Down. As Francine, the owner of The Voracious Reader said, about Never Fall Down, “This book will Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews, News | Comments Off on Patricia McCormick on Never Fall Down

chrisgrabphoto

Chris Grabenstein – Author Interview

August 10th, 2012 by melissa g
What do you know about Chris Grabenstein? You may have read his mysteries, like Tilt a Whirl and Mind Scrambler or seen his holiday movie, The Christmas Gift, but did you know that he also did improvisational comedy and spent seventeen years writing television and radio commercials? And, of course, he’s the author of the Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews | Comments Off on Chris Grabenstein – Author Interview

Meet Trenton Lee Stewart

May 30th, 2012 by melissa g
Check out the Sweet on Books Interview with Trenton Lee Stewart, Author of The Mysterious Benedict Society series. As you might imagine from the stories he writes, he is imaginative, clever, funny and definitely entertaining! As he reveals in our interview, he has never been a secret agent, his next book is not related to Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews | Comments Off on Meet Trenton Lee Stewart

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meet Award-Winning Author, Grace Lin

February 28th, 2012 by melissa g
Grace Lin is charming and entertaining.  Those qualities clearly come across in her incredible children’s books, but now we have further evidence, as can be seen in our recent interview with this distinguished author.  We enjoyed getting to know Ms. Lin a little better, and we truly appreciate her time and her thoughtful answers to Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews | Comments Off on Meet Award-Winning Author, Grace Lin

LB1

What do Marc Brown & Madonna have in common?

January 27th, 2012 by melissa g
OK, you’re probably thinking, nothing. They couldn’t possibly have anything in common, right? But as Mr. Brown, creator of the renowned Arthur series, pointed out at a Little, Brown Picture Book event last night, they actually do have something, in fact two things, in common! Both Madonna and Mr. Brown have “dabbled” in publishing, and both Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews, News | Comments Off on What do Marc Brown & Madonna have in common?

MELOY2-nytimes

Interesting Article in the NY Times about the New Book “Wildwood” and Children’s Literature

October 12th, 2011 by melissa y.
Colin Meloy, author of the new book Wildwood, sits down with the New York Times to discuss his book and children’s literature. Meloy is best known as the lead singer of the band, The Decemberists.  But don’t mistake him for Madonna!  Wildwood is his first book and it is NOT a whim.  It is the Read More...

Posted in Author Interviews, News | Comments Off on Interesting Article in the NY Times about the New Book “Wildwood” and Children’s Literature

« Previous Entries